Strawberry Cake

OMG MAKE THIS.

The other day I was watching Paula Deen on the Food Network and she made the most amazing looking strawberry cake. Since then, I have NOT been able to stop thinking about it! A few days later, it was announced that she’s been diagnosed with Type II diabetes.  Not shocking, but still sad.  I love Paula Deen despite her excessive use of butter and I think you can still enjoy her dishes but clearly, in moderation.

Anyhoo, I digress. When I was looking up the recipe I saw that her son, Bobby Deen, actually recreated a healthier but still not healthy at ALL version of Paula’s strawberry cake!  This is the version I decided to go with and it was amazingggg.

Oh..and click here for the link to some of the other recipes that Bobby Deen recreates on his new show, “Not My Mama’s Meals” on the Cooking Channel

I made a few minor adjustments to the recipe, so my version is below but if you want the original click here

Ingredients:

For the cake part:

  • 1 cup fresh strawberries (finely chopped, but not pulverized..like as small as your little fingers allow!)
  • 3 tablespoons strawberry preserves
  • 1 box (18.25 ounce) white cake mix
  • 1 package Sugar-Free Strawberry Jello
  • 3 large egg whites
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup water

For the icing:

  • 1 8 ounce package of reduced-fat cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 4 tablespoons butter, at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup strawberry preserves
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups confectioners sugar
  • Red food coloring
  • Freshly sliced strawberries (for garnish)

Directions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F
  2. Liberally spray two 9 inch, round cake pans with non-stick spray
  3. Mix together finely chopped strawberries, strawberry preserves, cake mix, jello, egg whites, oil and water until it’s all blended and has a thick, smooth consistency
  4. Divide batter evenly between the two cake pans
  5. Bake for 18 minutes or until a toothpick comes clean out of the middle of the cake
  6. Let cool for at least 30 minutes before removing from pans
  7. For the frosting: Beat together the cream cheese and butter until smooth
  8. Beat in the preserves and vanilla
  9. Slowly add in the confectioners sugar until the icing is well blended
  10. Put in two drops of red food coloring (or until you get the color you want), mix in completely
  11. Place one cake layer on plate and spread 1/3 of the frosting mix on top
  12. Place second cake layer on top then spread the rest of the frosting mix on sides and top of cake, garnish with sliced strawberries
12 responses

  1. This looks amazing!! My mom usually always makes me a strawberry layer cake for my birthday from Duncan Hines but I think this year I’ll pass this one along to her Perfect for valentine’s day too 🙂

    • It goes in with the cake batter…before you add the egg whites, oil and water. I must have forgot to put it in the post! Fixing it now. I’m so glad you’re making it! Let me know how it turns out.

  2. Pingback: Recipe Index | Big Butter Baking

Leave a Reply

