Apple Picking…near NYC!

Let me begin this post by saying that I live in Manhattan, so, rarely do I see trees or dirt or anything really besides concrete.

Will the summer coming to an end, I wanted to do something to enjoy the beginning of a new season.  Wilkens Farm is about 45 minutes outside of the city (by train) and is a GREAT family owned fruit farm. There were both Gala and Macintosh apples available to pick, a cute hayride to the orchard and a great little bakery on site.

I really enjoyed my day at the farm and the change of pace from crazy city life.  Also, the apples were AMAZING. You can definitely tell the difference between these farm fresh ones and the waxy ones at the grocery stores.  If you live around NYC this is a trip worth taking.  You can find more information here at their website..happy apple picking!

Leave a comment